Home » Latest World News, Pakistan » Punjab CM: Deadlock takes the call to election commission

punjab-cmWith the six-member parliamentary committee failing to agree on a name for a caretaker chief minister for Punjab, the matter is now in the hands of the provincial election commission.

The committee members told journalists after today’s meeting that they could not reach a consensus on a name for caretaker chief minister and were therefore referring the matter to the election commission under Article-224 of the Constitution.

The committee members, including Rana Sanaullah from PML-N, Chaudhry Zaheer from PML-Q, Zulfiqar Gondal and Shaukat Basra from PPP informed reporters about the decision.

The opposition PPP said it has serious reservations over PML-N’s nominees Khawaja Zaheer Ahmed and Justice (retd) Amer Raza and would apprise the election commission of these.

Moreover, Sanaullah said his party would accept any name finalised by the election commission.

In the committee, the ruling PML-N was represented by Rana Sanaullah, Mujtaba Shujaur Rehman and Iqbal Chunnar, while the opposition PPP and PML-Q were represented by Shaukat Basra, Zulfiqar Gondal and Chaudhry Zaheer.

The PML-N had suggested the names of Justice (retd) Amer Raza and former bureaucrat Khawaja Zaheer Ahmed while the opposition wanted to see either Justice (retd) Zahid Husain or senior journalist Najam Sethi for the post.

, , , , , , , ,

Add reply